Under a Different Star


The Southern Cross - only visible below the Equator

The first night we arrived in Zambia, somebody pointed out to us the Crux constellation – aka, the Southern Cross.  I’d never seen it before, and every night that we’ve been here I’ve made a point of looking for it.

One night something occurred to me as I was looking up at it.  The Southern Cross is appropriately named – it is not visible in most of the Northern Hemisphere, and where it is visible above the Equator, it’s only seen for a small portion of the year.  It occurred to me, that night as I was looking up, that I was looking at stars that most of my loved ones weren’t able to see.  That bothered me – sometimes I comfort myself with the romantic notion that even though I’m physically separated from many of the people that I love and care about the most, maybe – just maybe – we both look up at night and contemplate the same star.

To all my loved ones – above or below the Equator; half a world away, or half a mile; in Bermuda, Brazil, Lubbock, London, New York, Japan, Africa, or wherever else you happen to find yourself in this big world…

Even though we’ve been separated by time, space, and circumstance, I hold you in my heart.  When I look at the stars, I think of you.  I thank God that I’ve known you, and I hope to see you again.

May you be blessed by the God who calls the stars by name.

dkm

One Comment on “Under a Different Star”

  1. Lori T says:

    I remember that constellation in Brasil.

    I have a friend from Searcy in Zambia (in Lusaka, I think) right now! Caroline is there to work with babies; she’s a speech pathologist. Anyway, here’s her blog: http://carolinerebekah.blogspot.com/ I thought it’d be cool if y’all met.


Leave a Reply

