Thinking About Facebook


My wife was looking at Facebook the other night and made what I thought was a very insightful comment. She said something like:

I wish these people with half naked pictures of themselves and cursing in every status would take “Christian” out of their religious views.

I think she has a point.

In some cases – by no means all, but some – FB gives a striking example of how those that claim Christ fail to live up to His standards. Make that, fail to even try to live up to His standards.  Of course, the problem isn’t FB – it is rooted in our hearts, in our attitudes toward serving Christ.

But the whole thing has got me thinking.  What, if anything, is the value in Facebook for Christians anyway?  It seems to me that there are some serious issues to think about for Christians who want to use FB, or any social media for that matter.  So I’m going to explore them.  I’ll be thinking out loud about social media for the next few days – mainly FB since I use that one probably most often. (Which leads into the necessary disclaimer that I do use social media… but I don’t want to fall into the trap of not thinking about it.)

In any case, this is what I’m on for now.  Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

