One Answer


I can’t remember where it came from.

Somewhere along the line, either through something I heard or something I read, I picked up an idea. Basically, the idea is that in general whenever a New Testament author writes to correct a problem, the solution to the problem can be found in the introduction to what he wrote.

I don’t know how true that is (it seems reasonable), but lately I’ve been looking for it as I’ve been doing my reading. Obviously you tend to find what you’re looking for (certainly more often than you would if you weren’t looking for it), but I was struck by what I read last night in the beginning part of 1 Corinthians.

In 1 Corinthians 1:1-9, what I think of as the introduction to Paul’s letter, there was one thing jumping out at me over and over again. Every verse. Several times in some verses. It’s so obvious it seems simplistic, but it jumps off the page when you read it. Paul’s emphasis, in each of the nine verses of the introduction, is Jesus Christ.

The amount of references in this short passage is staggering. What is Paul trying to say with all these mentions? I think this is at least one example of the solution being in the introduction.

Paul is saying to the church at Corinth that there is one answer to all of the problems that they are having. One answer for division in the church. One answer for prideful immorality. One answer for abuse of the public worship. One answer for abuse of gifts and self-aggrandizement. One answer for lack of love.

Whatever the problem, one answer. Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

