Update from Sunset – February 6, 2010


As always, time is flying… Bridget and I are now halfway through the 3rd term of our 1st year. God is doing so much in our lives. We are experiencing so many new things, and growing closer to Him day by day. This week we’re off of classes to do research, and I’m hoping to get a lot done in the next few days.

This term has been challenging in a different way than the past terms. The 1st term, of course, was when everything was new and there were a lot of adjustment issues. The 2nd term had the challenge of learning Greek – any language is a challenge for me. This term has it’s own things going on – they’ve introduced much more memory work, there’s a lot more pressure to manage time wisely since there are fewer assignments.

We’re keeping busy outside of class as well. We have a regular bible study set up with some friends whose door we knocked on one night. That’s been going on for a few months, and I think that we’re all growing as a result. Hopefully they will obey the gospel soon. Bridget and I were also asked to get involved with the youth group here at Sunset. I’m really looking forward to that. We’re trying to keep up with hospital visits as well.

Right now, our thoughts are on this coming summer. We are currently unsure of what we are going to be doing with our break, but there are a few opportunities to preach locally. What I’d really like to do though is find a place to do an internship for a short time. There’s something possibly going on there, too. We’ll see. It’ll depend on our support, so that’s a major consideration.

In the meantime, I’ve got lots to be getting on with here. This week I have to write a narration of the book of Acts memorize several chapters of the bible, complete a take home mid-term, complete several readings and assignments in Jude… and probably some other stuff I’ve forgotten.

As always, your prayers for us are greatly appreciated; we continue to pray for all of you as well. God bless you. d&b

8 Comments on “Update from Sunset – February 6, 2010”

  1. Floyd says:

    Hey brother Donnie It’s good to hear from You, and to know that all is well with you and Bridget. It certainly sounds like your time is used productively. Memorize chapters, learn greek… That’s a life times work for me (smile). There is a young man there name Princeton Palmer. He is an Aimer who we are helping. I first met him and his family in England at the congregation where Bro. Mac Sis. Marsha worship. Say hello to him for me if you run into him. I don’t know how all that works. What kind of support do you need for the summer intern opportunity? We will certainly keep you two in prayer

    • dkmartin says:

      @Floyd: Good to hear from you too, my brother.

      We’ve met Princeton, he’s a great person. He’s in Mexico right now on a short-term missions trip with the rest of the AIM class, but when he gets back I’ll pass along your greetings.

      I’m not sure what we will need for the internship at this point; we don’t even know if it is going to happen. I’ll pass along details as they become available.

      Give my love to Aunt Delyght. We appreciate your prayers

  2. pinky says:

    Hi D & B,

    So glad to hear from you both. Everything sounds so exciting! God is good and sounds as though you guys are hard at

    Doing his work. I will be continuing to pray for you both in your busy lives and hope to see you soon. I will be off to NY in August to pursue more interest of mine. Look forward to your next update. Let me know how i can support you both as well. Much peace, love & blessings
    Pinky

    • dkmartin says:

      @Pinky: Hey cuzzie! Thanks for your prayers. Interested to know about the NY move, call me or email me and let me know what’s going on there. I’m sure b would welcome the excuse for a visit.

      Love you…

  3. Aunt Pam & Rissy says:

    Hi D&B!

    Happy belated anniversary to you both. Happy to know that things are going well with the studies and that God is keeping you safe and well. We continue to pray for your provision and protection! We love you both and look forward to hearing from you again.

    Love you both,
    Aunt Pam & Rissy

  4. Karen Daniels says:

    Hello Donnie & Bridget, great to hear from you. Wow, your schedule sure is hectic, can’t say that I envy you at all, but I know that both of you are up for the challenge and will succeed at whatever you do. Were all so proud of you both. We know that God will open the right doors for you for your summer internship. Please know that you guys are always in my thoughts and prayers and I miss seeing your lovely faces about. Please keep us abreast of the happenings so that we can be sure and provide the support that you need to complete your mission.

    All the best, Luv You, Sis Karen

  5. Bro Paul says:

    Hi there,
    Glad to hear that things are still going well. Hard work and good time management are certainly par for the course – I know that you guys will be fine! I’ll be praying for your bible study from door knocking and for your summer plans to come clear soon.
    May God bless you both.
    Bro Paul

  6. Bro@Sis Dill says:

    Good Day to my Bro@Sis,
    It,s always good to hear from you.We are glad to know all is going well sorry we are late writing tp you Sister Dill became a Senior Feb.18 and had a few parties and we travelled to the Middle East for a few weeeks. May God continue to bless you both God willing we will see in a few months

    Bro.@Sis Dill


Leave a Reply

