Intentionality – The Study Post


Continuing on with the intentionality theme – you may want to read the previous posts to get up to speed.

I’ve always had a problem with studying. To be honest, I don’t think I’ve ever really learned to do it properly. If I’m ever going to do it, I need to approach it with a plan, not haphazardly hoping that something good will happen.

So here’s the plan:

Basically, I’ve taken all my schoolwork and broken it up into 8 chunks. Each subject gets one hour, and I do four subjects a night. The following night, I’ll do the remaining 4.

I like this for several reasons:

1) Hopefully, this will get me into the habit of study that I haven’t been able to get into all my life.
2) Since all my classes are in bible, this translates to 4 hours of bible study per day, on top of class time. It will start to sink in with that much time. Plus, if the habit carries over, I’ll be studying the bible 4 hours a day for the rest of my life.
3) I actually only have 7 things going on with school right now, so the 8th chunk of time is being given over to reading for pleasure. I’m way behind on my reading list – my books are stacking up and feeling neglected. This way, I knock a little bit off of that mountain as time goes on.
4) There are others, but it’s getting late…

One obvious thing comes through, which is that this study plan involves a lot of time. I’m building in the flexibility to allow myself half-hour chunks instead of the usual hours (so 2 hours total instead of 4 hours). But the idea is to get on with it, not come up with excuses before I even start.

But it does raise the question of time commitments. So, since I’ve already talked a bit about my marriage intentions, I think the next post will be on quality time with God. I’ve had some thoughts there, too.

Thoughts? Has anybody come up with a really good study plan? I’d love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

