Intentionality – The Journey Begins


It is not enough to be well-intentioned; one must strive to put those intentions into action in a capable way. – Andrew Cohen

Along with “transformation”, one of the new buzzwords in my home is “intentional”. Things must be done intentionally, I’m reminded. Which I’m happy about. Those that know me best will know that I think my biggest struggle is with personal discipline. And “living intentionally” seems to fit in with the goal of being disciplined, without the negative connotations.

The problem, I’m finding out, is that once you start putting intentionality into practice, it can become an obsession. Again, I think that’s a good thing in my case, but I see the potential for things to get out of hand.

But anyhow, nothing enhances commitment like broadly-published goals. So, in the next few days, I hope to share my newly-formed and still-forming intentionality plans in detail, including (in no particular order):

  • Intentional marriage
  • Intentional study
  • Intentional bible reading and memorization
  • Intentional devotions and personal time with God

I’ve picked these areas specifically because I think they have the greatest impact on my life, but like most people I have been content to just cruise along with them for the most part.  I hope to change that.

I’m curious to know: what are the things that you need to be more intentional about?  And what are you doing about it?

3 Comments on “Intentionality – The Journey Begins”

  1. […] His Needs Her Needs, Intentionality, marriage by dkmartin Recap:  Right now, I’m all about being intentional. As promised, this is the first in a series of posts on my plans to do that, starting with […]

  2. […] 31 by dkmartin Continuing on with the intentionality theme – you may want to read the previous posts to get up to […]


Leave a Reply

